Question related tables, multi-column combo boxes, form says one thing, table says another

First let me start by saying that I am not a programmer. I am a power user. It is only with the help of kind geniuses like those in this forum that I can accomplish anything.

Now, I have inherited a very large database with lots of interlinked tables. The part I am specifically struggling with right now is somewhat of a staff box.

tblStaff has StaffID & StaffName

tblJobs has (among a million other things) AssignedStaff which is a combobox with a lookup source of;
    SELECT [tblStaff].[StaffID] FROM tblStaff ORDER BY [tblStaff].[StaffID];

formJobForm has a combobox called Combo312 who's controlsource is AssignedStaff and the column is generated by
    SELECT [tblStaff].[StaffID], [tblStaff].[StaffName] FROM tblStaff ORDER BY [StaffName];

When I select a staff member in my form, it shows the ID correctly (for example: 04)
    When I check my tblJobs to make sure it's saving correctly is says something different (for example: 06)

Going back to the form it still says the correct number. I don't understand why they're different! Please help.

As a last note, I am using a Japanese version of MS Access, so I can't actually read the properties boxes. I usually go online to find an English version and match the order to what I have to fill these things out. If you want to know where something is- please provide a screenshot showing where I can find that detail. I will do my best!

orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    I'm not understanding this line
    tblJobs has (among a million other things) AssignedStaff which is a combobox with a lookup source of;
    SELECT [tblStaff].[StaffID] FROM tblStaff ORDER BY [tblStaff].[StaffID];

Are you saying this is a lookup field in a Table?

Can you post a jpg of you Tables and Relationships?