Emily.G is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Using Update Query with Attachment Field

I'm really new to access and have been creating a database to store information on clients and the documents we keep on each client. I made a big mistake and set the database up with tables for each document type with their attachments and the information we input on the document. I had a bunch of tables connected to the client information table in 1-1 relationships so I went to combine it all in one big table. [sidenote: I read that this was horrible database design to have it all spread out in tables with 1-1 relationships plus it's keeping me from inputting all the information in one form because the client itself has to be inputted before I can input the documents since the document tables pull from the client name which isn't established when I try to put it all in at once. If I'm really not that in the red with having multiple 1-1 tables then I'd love it if someone could help me make a form that would let me put in the client information and the documents at once with out running into the issue of the form not knowing to create new records in the document tables with the name of the client automatically in there] That's where I'm hitting my issue;

I've been using an update query to move over all the text/date/number information from the documents tables to the new master table but it won't let me transfer the attachments I've attached because it's considered a multi-value field. We've already populated the thing and so it would really suck to have to go through by hand and re-attach the thousands of documents. Hopefully you guys can help!

Thanks,
    Emily

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Would have to use VBA code to first save the attachments out to external folder then attach to field of other table. http://blogs.office.com/b/microsoft-...cess-2007.aspx