Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    JJ22 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Question Medical Database Design for Research

Hi all! Completely new to database design so I tried to be as descriptive as possible. I started with humble beginnings in Excel and now that I have more variable columns than I can handle, I need a relational database like Access. I am a graduate student studying nutrition, to be specific, obesity.

I designed a data extraction from medical record systems to collect the data for a chart review project and the raw data as come back.

I have five separate excel spread sheets.

1) Patient list: With columns including patient name, their medical #, and date of birth.
    My thoughts: I will have to de-identify these patients so my plan is to make a unique Pat_ID for each. Ex: Jake = 1, Jason = 2 etc and remove their name, medical number and keep their DOB only to their birth year. This will serve as a primary key and a foreign key for a lot of tables.

2) Patient PER visit data. Each patient has the following recorded PER VISIT. Thus, 3 visits to the clinic = 3 rows with columns including their name, unique medical #, year of birth, gender, ethnic group, employment, insurance brand, insurance plan, marriage status, date of visit to the clinic, who the provider was (name of doctor, nurse, dietitian), an unique encounter ID for each patient per visit (I'll call it Pat_ID_Visit), blood pressure systolic, blood pressure diastolic, height, weight, and BMI.
    My thoughts: I was thinking on making the unique patient ID for each visit the primary key here, and using the Pat_ID as the foreign key, a one to many relationship.