vikasbhandari2 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Queries Locking the Back End Database

Hello All,

I tried to search the issue, and found it as well but couldn't understand it very well. Sorry about that but since I am a beginner in Access, so I expect you will forgive me to ask it again

I have created two DBs, one Back End, and one FrontEnd. My FrontEnd contains all the UIs/Forms, Linked Tables, and the queries fetching data from linked tables, and the Back End consists of all the Tables.

Now, in my Model, the BackEnd DB will be stored in a common drive and will be accessed by multiple users through same FrontEnd.

Now when I am trying to fire a query in FrontEnd (aka FE) DB, it is locking up the Back Up database. Even though I have set the RecordLock property to No Locks to query and the form.

Can you please suggest how to remove the locking? I couldn't very well understand the solutions provided by other threads here so any explanation would be highly appreciated!

Thanks,
    Vikas B

John_G is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Hi -

What do you mean by "Locking up" the BE database, and how do you know it is 'locked'? If only one person is running the query that should not happen. However, if a query is not written correctly, it may appear to be locking the BE (and the FE as well), because the query takes a long time to execute.

Can you post more details, please.

John

Locking means, backup.ldb appears when I try to run a query through front end DB.

For example, I have a table called Building in BackEnd.

In FrontEnd DB, I have got table building as a LinkedTable. I have a query in my FrontEnd DB with name as lvMasterBuilding. Now when I am trying to run that query, it is locking up my BackEnd DB, which means an ldb file is automatically created. Ideally, I don't want to lock the DB just to fire the query in a multi user environment.

Thanks,
    Vikas

John_G is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Hi -