edthened is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Table Relationships

I am a complete beginner to Access 2007 so please bear with me because the answer is probably very simple to experienced programmers.

I have two tables - a Client Table (with their particulars) - and a Furniture Table (stating details of the article and the restoration carried out).

The Client Table has a Client ID column which is set as the key and AutoNumber - the Furniture Table has a Furniture ID set as key and AutoNumber and the next column is the Client ID set to Number.

The Client Table has a one-to-many relationship with the Furniture Table and that works fine.

However I cannot seem to make the reverse happen - what I want is the Furniture Table, with all furniture items shown for every client (shown in datasheet style), and beneath it the Client details. When I click the mouse on a row in the Furniture Table, I want the client, with his/her details to show below.

I should be very grateful if someone could show me how to do this.

Many thanks

dandoescode is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2007
    If I'm understanding you correctly you want.
    Code:
     SELECT FurnitureTable.Furniture ID, ClientTable.ClientID, ClientTable.ClientInfo FROM Furniture Table Left Join Client Table WHERE FurnitureTable.ClientId = ClientTable.ClientID;

Windows XP Access 2007
    But I could be completely misunderstanding you.

Windows XP Access 2007
    If you wanted to actually change the Furniture Table you would use an Append Query, but you may want to leave it as is.

Thank you very much for replying to my query. I have been trying to send you a screen shot, so that it makes my enquiry clearer as I think what you have suggested may work (thought I am not sure how to set it up). Do you know how I could send you one?
    I really appreciate you spending valuable time helping me.

Windows XP Access 2007