Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Antinomy is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Adding/Editing Records through a subform

Greetings, all!

I am creating a database to record and sort various projects (ala Get Things Done). So far the table setup has gone fine (I am new to Access, so this has taken some time).

Now I'm putting together the forms to enter the data, and I've run into a roadblock.

I have a table called "conversations" that describes meetings, phone calls, etc. I have another table called "people" that describes - you guessed it - the people I collaborate with. Many people can participate in one conversation; one person can contribute to many conversations. So I created a join table to unite the two.

When entering the details of a conversation, I want to attach the people who participated in the conversation to that record. So I used the form wizard to create a "conversation" form, with a subform based on the join table.

The resultant form is great if I want to attach new people to the conversation - the datasheet makes it easy to create new people entries. But when it comes to using the names of existing people (which will be what I need to do 90% of the time) I have to type in the people ID number to get the right record. Of course, I don't want to memorize these ID numbers!

I'm sure there's a way of choosing from the existing list of people without entering the ID number, but I'm stuck. Can anyone offer any advice?

Many thanks,

Ant

Rod is offline Expert
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Hi Ant,

Let me describe a scenario that is, I hope, what you want. If it is, I can help you implement it.

Somewhere on the main/parent form there is a command button captioned, "Add Participants." This button must be disabled or invisible if you are adding a new conversation until that conversation has been added to the database and has obtained a primary key.