Rschoenb is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2010 64bit

Help - Filter Master form based on sub-form criteria

Hi,

I hope someone can help me with because I am struggling. I have a Master form which includes tabs within the tab I have subforms. I am looking for a way to filter my master form based on data found within my sub form.

I have a check box within one of the sub-forms called "softwareInstall" if yes the box would be checked. I want to filter all customers within my main form with a check box in my main form to turn on and show all customer who has this box check within the subform SoftwareInstall=True.

I am not sure if I am explaining this correctly. Hoping someone has the answer I have been searching all over!

Thanks,

Ruth

suttilld is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Are you saying that you have a checkbox in your main form, and if you tick it, you want to see all the customers in the main form that have a software install chackbox ticked in their sub form?

Yes! That is exactly what I am saying.. I can't figure out how to do it! I am hoping it can be done.

How is your data organised? Does the main form reference the same table as the sub form or a different table? Or do the forms reference queries?

I have my main customer table which is the table used for the main form called "CustomerTracking" the sub form uses another table called "Software" both tables have a relationship on a field called "CustID". The sub form only shows one record which pertains to the customer shown within the Main form. I can navigate through all customers and view each sub form entry but it would be nice to filter the main form based on the "Software" installed check box that are set to true or checked.

Right, sorry for all these questions, but just trying to get it clear in my mind.