NewbieInCT is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit

Querying 2 or more tables

I am trying to write a query that queries multiple excel files I download from Government websites. I am trying to create a database of over 14 different excel files that are for checking to see whether or not someones name is on a government list...

I have the query working with 1 excel file, but it freezes when I have 2... It could be the size, or how I have the files linked. I am having access look to an excel file, which can change daily/weekly.

If someone could help with the query, I would greatly appreciate it. I am a novice, and just haven't found what I am looking for here.

If you could also help clarify what I need to do to add another tab, that would be great.

The end result would to be to enter a search term, and if the word (or partial word) appears, to put the entire line in the report. For example, if I enter the word tent would give any words like attention, discontent, intention.
    Attached Files Attached Files

jzwp11 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    First, Access is not some high end spreadsheet it is a relational database and one of the rules of relational databases is that like data should be in 1 table. So, if the 14+ spreadsheets have similar data, that data should be migrated into 1 table in Access. You would only need 1 query.

Now if there is some logical join of the data in the 14 spreadsheets, you may be able to create 1 query after first joining the 14 spreadsheets together. If there is no logical join, then you have to have separate queries (1 for each spreadsheet/table)

OK. Unfortunately, the different government lists available on the web can not be joined too easily.
    I know how to make individual queries. Could you help joining multiple queries into 1?