henjin is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit

Need help with stock exchange database

Hello my friends,

I really appreciate the existence of such a forum because it gives a possibility that noobs like me learn how to use Access as it should be. I just want to inform you that I am a complete noob what it is regarding MS Access... I know the basics, what are tables, queries etc.

The problem now is... i need for my work to create a database for my coworkers where they can monitor their stock tradings... as they are involved in multiple diverse trading companies and are beginning to loose overview...

I need to make a table where they input every trade individually, with information about with which trading company they made the investment, what stocks they traded and under which price did they bought. Then i need to make a filter where it should show the grouping for every company every coworker and every stock (sum of each different stock individually) then i need to make a portofolio separately for every coworker that he can see which stock he has and what the current value of it is (that means it needs two additionally fields one where he can input the current price and the second where it calculates the current value (price*sum of the stock he owns).

For now i created like this:
    - made a main list where they input every trade
    -created a crosstab query where the informations are grouped like this: Trading company, Name, Last name, Stock 1, Stock 2, stock 3... etc (example: JP Morgan, Michael, Soth, 4012(owns that much stocks of the named stock), 334, 4421)

For now it works ok, as this is what i need. Now I need to know how to make a query out of this crosstab where i will have the given fields in which they can insert the price of the stock and a field that counts the value.
    For example:

Michael Soth

Stock 1 4012 (empty field to input the price) (field that calculates the value 4012*(price))