Bill Sperry is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Possible Relationship Issue?

I have a table that uses an identifying number for each customer. I also have an identifying number for a geographical area (1-8) When I create reports etc, I need the geographical number to be automatically populated with the customer ID. Note: (I don't see how this makes a difference, but the customer ID is a 4 or 5 digit number. It is unique, but not sequential). I am new to access and have multiple tables created and/or to create. Iuse these tables in a HIPAA/FISMA secure environment and so each table must be limited to 3 or 4 fields. Thank you.

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Does some part of the customerID include the geographic area code? I doubt this and then there is no relationship between the customer and area. Access can't read minds. If it does include the area then there is no need to populate another field. The area can be extracted from the ID whenever needed.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Quote Originally Posted by June7 View Post
    Does some part of the customerID include the geographic area code? I doubt this and then there is no relationship between the customer and area. Access can't read minds. If it does include the area then there is no need to populate another field. The area can be extracted from the ID whenever needed.
    No, the geographical area is not a part of the customer ID. I need to lock the 2 fields together so that whenever I refer to or need the customer ID, the geographic area will populate with it.

June7 is online now VIP