SevenSignz is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Form no longer updates table; what'd I do?

Evening all!

I've been working on an "Enter Scores" type of form for a database that's used in a competition. What should happen, is I pick a team from a combobox, enter their score in a text box, then upon the form's close, a separate table should have a record added with the team's number and score. However, somehow after changing a few things, this doesn't happen anymore.

I should mention that this is a maintenance problem, as this database was complete and used in previous competitions, but the user needed it to be slimmed down. I'm an Access newbie, but everything has been going fine until this. There were never any macros or events for "onClose" and the only things I changed was where the data for the combo box came from (to my knowledge at least). Oh, and I'm using MS Access 2007.

So my question boils down to, how can I tell what happens when the form closes? If this isn't enough info, please let me know what you need. I can even upload the database if you'd like. Thanks!

EDIT:The problem unfortunately evolved. Now it does update the table, but the identifying field, Team #, defaults to 0 no matter which record I pick from the combo box.

EDIT 2: Problem solved! The Record Source of my form had to be changed to the table it was updating. Thanks for the help!
    Last edited by SevenSignz; 03-04-2012 at 05:47 AM.

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Provide file for analysis. Attach to post.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Windows XP Access 2007
    Oh, hello June! I didn't realize these forums were connected.

Here's the database before I touched it, and after I made changes. Please disregard any specific info discrepancies; I had to censor some personal info.