StevenCV is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Sub Total and Overall Totals in a Report

Hi,

I am completely new to Access, and have managed to create a database/form for my boss. However, I am struggling with creating the reports that are needed. I also have a problem with calculating hours/minutes.

I will let you know what I need, and I would be very grateful if someone could point me in the right direction.

About My Database
    It collects information on our service users. We have care staff that go out and visit these service users, and data is inputted for each visit, including total time on site. This has been being inputted into excel, but it has outgrown this program. Currently, they input time on site in a format of "1 hour 5 mins". Obviuously, this will not be suitable for totalling up the time.

Report that I Need
    One that lists each record (with fields "Log Number", "Client Swift Number", "Client Name", "Client Address") and then shows a total number of hours care provided.

Currently, this is collected in 14 different fields ("1) Total Hours", "2) Total Hours", "3) Total Hours", and so on).

However, I may need to change this. I am not confident in the end users ability to input hours/minutes as decimal figures, so would it be best if I created another field next to each hours field for "Total Minutes"?

If so, I would then need the report to 1) Add up the total hours from 14 hours fields for each record. 2) Add up the total minutes from 14 minute fields for each record and 3) Add these together, ensuring that minutes are converted into hours and the total displays total hours and total minutes. The report would ideally do steps 1 and 2 in the background and just display the complete total.

Finally, I would like an overall total that lists the complete total hours and minutes of every record.

Does this make sense? If you need further clarification, please do not hesitate to ask me to make things clearer.