Jonny333 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Filtering/Querying Records using Selection Screen

Hi all,

I've been wracking my brain over this for a couple of hours and would appreciate any feedback any of you could offer (FYI, I'm relatively new to Access). Apologies in advance if this is long-winded, but I want to try and be as clear as possible.

I've created a customer database for a group of people. It consists of an unbound switchboard main form, a few data entry forms, some search forms, and report generators. The new thing I've been asked to implement is a sort of login screen that filters the full customer roster down to the customer roster of the person that is "logging in." I've created this so-called "log-in" screen with a combo box that shows the list of people that would log in, as well as an option to view the full customer roster.

Here's my vision: the log-in screen would open concurrently with the switchboard form and prompt a selection for log-in. This selection would then be stored so that the person logging in can do whatever tasks they would like from the switchboard (add new records/customers, view the customers that are already under their name, generate reports, etc.). I would also want the person logging in to be able to change their log-in selection from the switchboard.

So, my question basically is: what would be the best way to do this? My initial thought was to have all of the forms launched from the switchboard bound to a stored query that is manipulated/changed by the log-in form. Alternatively, I was thinking it might be best to just keep the forms bound to the tables and just code the log-in screen to change/update the filter of the table. I could also just write the SQL string in VB. This is a split database running over a network, so my main concern is implementing a method that would maximize performance and efficiency.