mrjoshuaw is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

How to associate and disassociate information

Ok, blanket statement, not new to Access but have not touched it in years and that was self taught so I am sure there were lots of bad habits learned!

Now the question:

I am building a database with multiple tables that are related by id numbers for each table, for example:

tblBusinessCustomer: CustomerID Primary Key
    tblBusinessServiceAddress: ServiceAddressID Primary Key

I have the CustomerID also in the tblBusinessServiceAddress and it is related to the tblBusinessCustomer as: tbleBusinessCustomer"CustomerId" --one to many --> tbleBusinessServiceAddress"CustomerId".

So I have a customer that gets service at a specific address, but then moves to a different location while keeping the same service. What I would like to do is have that customer "disassociated" from the initial address and then "associated" to a new service address. That way I could run a query against all addresses that HAD service but do not have anyone there currently (this would be run against the tblServiceAddress I presume).

Sorry if it is confusing, let me know if clarification is in order, as well as any more information.

jzwp11 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Welcome to the forum!

You say that a business customer can have many service addresses:
    tbleBusinessCustomer"CustomerId" --one to many --> tbleBusinessServiceAddress"CustomerId".
    But, let's say that your customer leaves an address and moves to a new address. Now a new business moves into your customer's old address and wants to be your customer and thus signs up for a service. That basically says that an address can have many business customers: another one-to-many relationship. Assuming that this scenario is indeed possible, then your current table structure and your desire to monitor where services were rendered previous to a move would not be possible.