cbgroves is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Report Sorting Issue

Hey everyone,

I am relatively new to Access and have been setting up a pretty simple database to track some things at work. I have been able to figure most everything out except a sorting issue in a report that I need. I am sorting by semester, ie spring 2011, summer 2011, fall 2011, spring 2012 ect. My problem is I need them to go in that order, by the academic calendar. I cannot figure out how to sort by anything other than alphabetically and I do not want to add random characters to make it sort correctly. Can what I want to do be done?

Thanks!

Calvin

hertfordkc is offline 18 year novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

I'm not above brute force when I know it works.

Quote Originally Posted by cbgroves View Post
    Hey everyone,

I am relatively new to Access and have been setting up a pretty simple database to track some things at work. I have been able to figure most everything out except a sorting issue in a report that I need. I am sorting by semester, ie spring 2011, summer 2011, fall 2011, spring 2012 ect. My problem is I need them to go in that order, by the academic calendar. I cannot figure out how to sort by anything other than alphabetically and I do not want to add random characters to make it sort correctly. Can what I want to do be done?

Thanks!

Calvin
    Add a calculated field to the query on which your report is based.
    Assuming that you have the semester already present, use an iif statement to enumerate the semester information in the desired order, i.e. 20111, 20112, 20113 or whatever scheme makes sense to you. Then sort on it. You don't need to print it on the report, although it may have to be hidden in the detail somewhere.

Would it be possible for you to write me an example of how this would look? I would greatly appreciate it!

Windows XP Access 2007

Select the query which you wish to sort. Go to design view.