Completly lost...

I am in the process of setting up a basic database for my company and am stuck on a feature I am trying to acheive. I am a novice Access user and do not know where to go from here.

I am trying to acheive the most current information from all columns for the input records with no duplicates.

For example:
    Table Name: Insurance
    Fields: Vendor, BrokerDate, GLLimit, GLEXP, GLEND, AUTOLimit, AUTOEXP, AUTOEND, AdditionalInsureds

Each different certificate we get is entered in. The problem is we may receive a certificate from Vendor for only the GLLimit and GLEXP and not GLEND. We may also get a certificate that lists off the GL items and not the Auto items. To complicate it the two certificates might name different additional insureds.

What I am trying to retreive is only the certificates that are not expired and are endorsed correctly for each vendor.

Right now I have one large table with the above fields, plus other types of insurance, and filter out each type of insurance in its own query with conditions meeting what I want. The queries come out fine, but I want something in one table or query, not 5 different queries for each type of insurance.

Is this even possible?

CraigDolphin is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2000
    I think this comes down to a failure to normalize your database tabe design.

Now, I know nothing about your business or insurance types, so this advice may be missing something but it seems to me that you have an entity called certificates that are supplied to you by another entity called vendors. Each certificate can have one or more insurance types (another entity) associated with it. Correct so far?

If so, then you need at least four tables.

tblCertificates
    CertificateID (auto,pk)
    CertificateDate
    VendorID (fk)

tblVendors
    VendorID (auto,pk)
    VendorName
    VendorStreetAddress
    VendorCityAddress
    etc

tblInsuranceTypes
    InsuranceTypeID (auto,pk)