Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27
  1. #1
    css1270 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    21

    Question This Recordset is not updateable

    I am new to the forum so I hope this will help. I am running Access 2007 and in my database I have a form named "Clients." In this form I have a section "Mailing Information" and "Billing Information." Most often the billing info is the same as the Mailing info so instead of re-typing the same data I wanted the Billing fields to read and copy the Mailing fields. I wrote code to do this:

    Private Sub Click_Here_1_Click()
    Billing_Address = StreetAddress
    Billing_City = City_ALT
    Billing_State = State
    Billing_Zip = Zip
    MsgBox "This command does not enter the contact name because in some cases the name is different depending on the individual situation. Choose one of the boxes behind this message to enter the contact name, Thank You."
    End Sub

    When I run this I get "This Recordset is not updateable"

    I have used this code in other databases before and it has worked fine. What might be my problem? If more info is needed please let me know. Your help is needed, Thanks!

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,929
    The RecordSource the form is bound to is not updatable. Is the RecordSource a query of joined tables? Show the SQL statement.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    css1270 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    21
    Please forgive my ignorance but I do not have a query, unless this happens "behind the scenes." I have a form that we enter information into and in this case the mailing address info is duplicated in the billing information. All said information is coming from the same form. The "City" information is gathered from a "lookup." (Cities Table) Does that answer your question?

  4. #4
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,929
    Not really.

    The form is either bound (has a RecordSource) or unbound. Check the RecordSource property of the form. What is in there? Did you use wizard to create the form?

    You could provide project for analysis. Copy, remove confidential data, run Compact & Repair, zip if still large, attach to post.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  5. #5
    css1270 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    21
    When you say bound are you saying that it comes from another source within my database? And when you say unbound are you saying that it comes from the user (not found in the database)? I have both types in my form. I used the wizard to create the form and I made my own revisions and other additions to it. I don't know what you mean when you say "project for analysis". One more bit of info and I am not sure if it matters or not; I can not edit (that includes removing information) any part of my form and nor can I add a record. I am completely locked out.

  6. #6
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,929
    The issue must be with the form RecordSource and/or other form properties. Can you provide project?
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  7. #7
    css1270 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    21
    Do you want the whole database?

  8. #8
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,929
    That's okay.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  9. #9
    css1270 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    21
    I do not want to publish my entire business on this forum, how can I get this to you?

  10. #10
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,929
    What makes you think I won't mistreat your data? As I said, can copy and remove confidential data. Leave some dummy records just to test with. Can even extract only the objects related to issue to another project and provide that.

    "Project for analysis" means I would look at the project and try to determine cause of issue.

    Bound means the source of data displayed on the form is a table or query. Data input to bound controls would save directly to table. Unbound means form does not automatically display data from table/query and entered values are not automatically saved.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  11. #11
    css1270 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    21
    Here you go. Thanks.

  12. #12
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,929
    Cause of issue is the Attachment datatype fields in the form's RecordSource query. I removed them and the form is enabled. Also need to set DataEntry property to No so as to view existing records, otherwise form opens only to new record. Review these articles about handling Attachment datatype:
    http://www.access-freak.com/tutorials.html#Tutorial07
    http://blogs.office.com/b/microsoft-...cess-2007.aspx
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  13. #13
    css1270 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    21
    What data type shall I use if not "Attachment" and then how do I attach files? The example in the one link you provided did not mention other data types other than "Attachment" My current fields are set to "Attachment" mirroring the example you provided to me.

  14. #14
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,929
    I have never used the Attachment datatype. I would not want to if I have a lot of documents to reference. Depending on document type can bloat db. I also won't use multi-value fields and the Attachment field is essentially a multi-value field. Check this thread http://www.tek-tips.com/viewthread.cfm?qid=1647479
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  15. #15
    css1270 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    21
    Do you have another suggestion to deal with other Files that would normally be attachments? Hyperlinks are worthless because as soon as a folder changes location or name the hyperlink is broke. I cant imagine having keeping this computer forever, which would have to be the case not to break the hyperlink. Hyperlinks work great for temporary purposes. Any suggestions?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. This Recordset is not updateable.
    By neo651 in forum Access
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-05-2011, 05:56 PM
  2. Recordset not updateable
    By shiphtfour in forum Import/Export Data
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-16-2010, 01:31 AM
  3. Recordset not updateable
    By jgelpi16 in forum Forms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-20-2010, 09:50 AM
  4. this recordset is not updateable
    By astraxan in forum Queries
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-24-2010, 02:06 PM
  5. This Recordset Is Not Updateable
    By botts121 in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-11-2009, 05:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums