jseib1947 is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit

display field question

I am new to this forum, and I dont know how to word my question to search the forum.

I have been using a single access database since 1997 to track all my companies customers, and their orders.

My database has four tables: employees, customers, vendors, and orders

My customer table has a field called RID, which is a number that indicates the geographical region where they are located.

I would prefer that the field display in reports as a name. For example, if a customer has 2 in the RID column, that is northern Indiana. Is there a way to let access know that and to display as text not a number>?

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    How many regions? If only a few can use IIf or Switch function in expression in query or textbox.

Switch(RID=1,"Region 1", RID=2,"Region 2", RID=3,"Region 3")

If you have many more regions, build a table of them then join this table to the other on the RID primary/foreign key fields.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

I have 15 RID fields. I guess building a table is the way to go?

June7 is offline VIP
    You have 15 regions? A Switch expression could probably handle (don't know the limit on pairs) but that is a long enough list to justify table. Just a choice of which you like better, building the expression whenever needed or joining tables to retrieve the related info.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.