jean is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit

Use one form for data entry into multiple tables

Hello, I'm pretty new to using forms and VBA. I recently inherited a database that stored all data in a couple of tables, and used a single form for data entry.

I would still like to use a single form with multiple tabs for data entry. However, I tried to restructure the tables to make queries easier, coming up with the following relationships:

The most important structures are a Directory table, a Specs table, Project Directory table, which meet in a Prospects table. The Prospects table exists because a client could have more than one set of specs or projects, and a project could have more than one client associated.

My question is, how can I create a form that allows for easy data entry? For instance,
    Tab 1 would input data about a single client into the Directory table. It would also update the Contact_Notes table (a table consisting of just a memo field and the client_id number... I split it off to prevent corruption, but conceptually it is part of the Directory table.)

Tab 2 would create a new entry in Specs with the client's id number, then the user could fill in info about the client's requirements.
    Tab 3 would have the client id and specs id already set, and new dropdowns with the lists of available staff and projects, creating a new record in the Prospects table.
    Tab 4 would record info about the eventual sales made based on a prospect.

I have already tried embedding a subform, which works more or less, but looks confusing to the end user, even after I removed the navigation bars and most other formatting. I also tried making a big query of all the data out of all the tables and using it as the recordsource. Though that populated the form nicely with existing data, I was unable to update it (probably because the ID numbers were not being set properly.)