jcrispy3 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Help with lookup

Hi all. I'm a noob to access so bare with me...

I want to create a lookup menu that is determined by two fields. Here is an example of what I have:

I have one table with say car manufacturers.
    I have another table with say the make and year of cars. The manufacturer field is linked between the two tables.

I'm trying now to create a third table to add specific details about each car. But I only want to add specific details for cars that are in the previous two tables (that is why I created those two tables, I want to control what car manufacturers, makes and years are allowed).

In my new table, if the field in row A is "Ford", and the field in row B is "F-150", how can I provide a dropdown list of only the years entered for Ford F-150's from the previous table?

Robeen is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    In the Row Source Property for the ComboBox, you can put a Select Statement something like this:

This assumes that:
    1. Your Make/Year Table is named Make_Year,
    2. That you have a field in that Table named ModelYear,
    3. That you have a field in that Table named Manufacturer &
    4. That you have a field in that Table named Model.
    (I think I got it all!! )

Code:

SELECT DISTINCT [Make_Year].[ModelYear] FROM [Make_Year] Where [Make_Year].[Manufacturer] = "Ford" And [Make_Year].[Model] = "F-150" ORDER BY [Make_Year].[ModelDate];
    You'll have to change the field names according to what you've named the fields in your table.

I hope this helps.

Windows XP Access 2007
    Thanks Robeen. This is helping but not there yet.