nickiwinki is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Unhappy Cut/Paste Feild values to new record

I am very new to Access 2007 and have no experience with VBA.

I am keeping a list of employees in my building. Each employee has a unique record. Each record has all the equipment (computers, phones, printers, etc.) that each employee has in their possession.

To do this, I downloaded the Contacts Management Template from Access and then manipulated it. I've added tabs to the forms for each type of equipment and created all the fields I need. There is one table (Contacts) and there are multiple forms. The data in the forms are populated by queries. One query populates the equipment that is assigned to employees (Contact Details) and the other populates the spare equipment (Building Equipment Details)

In the forms, I would like to create a button to cut data from certain fields and put it in the clipboard. I would then like another button to paste the data from the clipboard into the same fields in another record.

Basically, this button would be used if the employee gets a new computer. The old computer should still be tracked, but in the new form for unused equipment. The employee's record would now have blank workstation fields, freeing it up to cut the data from one of the Building Equipment records and paste into the employee's record.

I found some threads on this basic idea, but not quite what I need.

The field names that are in both forms are:
    WK Node Name
    WK Make
    WK Model
    WK Bar Code
    WK Service Tag
    WK IP Address
    WK MAC
    WK Operating System
    WK Value
    WK Owner

Any help would be greatly appreciated, as I am very lost.

Nicole

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    I have never seen code for copy/paste with clipboard in Access. Don't think can be done. Can use INSERT SELECT query for this. Look at http://www.sqlteam.com/article/using...insert-records