Jojojo is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003

Trouble setting up a functional many to many relationship

Hi! I am setting up a database for a friend's Fitness/Massage Studio. I used the Events Management Template that comes with Access and then modified it (and the VB code) to suit her needs. I had the database almost complete - and then she requested one last report - which the database isn't set up for - and I can't figure it out how to do it. I haven't worked with Access in over 10 years - so I'm basically a newbie.

The main tables where the problem lies are the:
    Attendees
    Registration
    Events

I need to set up a functional many to many relationship as 1 Registration can have many events and 1 event can have many registrations.

Each Attendee (member) can have multiple registrations, with up to 5 classes per registration. The best way I was able to get it to work was to have 5 drop downs when they register a class, so they can choose 1 to 5 classes. This actually worked (but I'm sure there is a better way). But she would now like to be able to run class lists.

The class list would show Event details header(classname, day of the week it runs, start time etc), then the member info, their registration date etc - I would like to be able to set it up that she could select the class from a drop down list, enter the registration date period and it would produce the report. Because I can't get the join table to auto populate - I can't get the report to run.

Any help would be soooo greatly appreciated!! I've attached the database - any input on any of it is welcomed!

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Multiple similar columns is an indicator of bad design. Multiple columns for classes will cause issues. Report to group and sort by classes will not be easy. Each class registered for should be a record. In your sample data you show a record like: