SamK is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Teacher Training - Database to demonstrate I have met standards - help requested

Hello All,

About me: I am an Access novice. I am not formally trained but I have built a couple of functioning Access databases in the past.

My current problem: To pass a postgraduate teacher training programme I have to demonstrate that I have met a set of Qualified Teacher standards (QTS). To demonstrate this I am compiling a list of evidence (tasks performed). Each piece of evidence may be eligible as proof of meeting multiple standards.

I have set up an Evidence table in my database where I will log my completed tasks. To associate each piece of evidence with one or more standards, I have set up a series of binary checkboxes for each standard. It's essentially ticklist of what standards the evidence proves (see the file attached)

I will eventually want the database to report on various things, but the crucial element is getting it to report a list of relevant evidence by standard. So, for example, I would like the report to be able to select the required standard (Q1-33) and then list all the evidence relevant to that particular standard.

I've attached my embryonic database should anyone care to look.

I know I should go away and RTFM - and I would dearly love to as I'm very keen on Access - but my time must now be spent learning to teach! Any advice will be very much appreciated.

I hope my problem is clear and promise to answer any queries promptly. Thanks

Sam

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Multiple similar columns, such as the standards checkboxes, is an indicator of non-normalized data structure. This can cause issues. Say you want a report that groups records by standards met, this does not allow that. What if you add standards, have to modify the table. Table has 255 fields limit. Doubtful, but what if total standards and other attributes exceeded 255 fields?