mictip is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003

How do I to run an Informix stored procedure using MSAccess?

I use MSAccess to link to an informix db to run reports I create for the users who are given user logins to the informix db. I am not a programmer but can write basic SQL statements. I created an MSAccess query that has a number of parameters - some user input (from/to date) and some fixed. The fixed ones go against columns that are not indexed and it takes a long long time to run so the DBA is asking if I am able to execute a stored procedure in informix from within MSAccess. I have never done this and do not know where to start. Is this something I can do if he gives me the name of the stored procedure? I want to extract the data and create a report that displays it when the users run the report and input the date parameters...help!

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Does this help? I see reference to informix in the attempted code.
    http://visualbasic.ittoolbox.com/gro...pletion-524050
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

mictip is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003

More help please: here is what syntax I have so far.

Thank you for replying so fast. The link you gave me did not help as it shows VB programming lingo; I am not a programmer! In MSAccess view I currently have the following syntax:

SELECT informix_rtscaseh.case_number, informix_rtsprtyh.identifying_name, informix_rtsordeh.order_type_id, informix_rtsordeh.order_status, informix_rtsordeh.[total_ordered]-[total_applied] AS balance, informix_rtsordeh.order_create_date, informix_rtsordeh.filing_type_code, informix_rtsordeh.order_change_date, informix_rtscaspd.prob_type_code