rjurke is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2010 64bit

Creating new database

Hi

This is my first post on here as I am relatively new to ms access. I am using access 2010 for a project at work.

Basically I need a database to record faults which are found on a production line.

I need to be able to enter new faults to the record and the user (in read only) needs to be able to search for faults using four categories with cascade combo boxes (machine type, machine spec, fault type, symptom)

This will be used to aid production to search for common faults and hopefully help them to identify the fault cause which they have.

I have already created a table with my fields in where the faults will be recorded and a form which will be used to enter new faults into the database.

What I need now is a box to search for faults with the four cascade combo boxes and a report which will be generated with the records of all the faults which are within these boundaries.

I need to know what objects I use for this function, how I get the combo boxes to work in cascade and also how I get the report to be generated and list only the faults that the user needs to view.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

Richard

alansidman is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Go to this site. Scroll down to the tutorials on Combo Boxes.

http://www.datapigtechnologies.com/AccessMain.htm

Alan

rjurke is offline Novice
    Thanks for that, those tutorials are very helpful.
    However I tried to follow them exactly and now my combo boxes are empty?

For anyone to figure it out now, you will have to post your db with sample data so that we can discern the issue.

Alan

rjurke is offline Novice
    I have managed to figure it out with the tutorials now Alan.

However now I have my form with the combo boxes working correctly, how do i then open a report of faults based on the criteria in the combo boxes?

Richard