frosty is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Question Newbie: Print Analytical Report

I am really new to access and think I have grabbed several of the basic concepts, however please be gentle!

I need to collect lab testing data of several differing products, and be able to print this data on a certificate of analysis:

eg.

Product: a
    Batch Number: b
    Date:

Test 1:
    Result: c lower limit w upper limit x

Test 2:
    Result: d lower limit y upper limit z

Where a certificate will have different limits depending upon the specification for each of seperate products.

I (think!) I am able to create a table etc to collect the relevant data, but if someone could guide me through the basic steps to get the relevant data on a certificate I'd very much appreciate it.

I guess I'll have to make a word certificate, and reference lookup fields but I'm not really sure how to go about this. I have very limited ability with VBA and SQL code.

Any help is really appreciated.

Many thanks in advance guys!

Frosty.

Robeen is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Do you have your Table created and all the data you need in the Table?

Once you do - the next thing to do is to decide what data from your table needs to be on the report.

Once you have decided that - I think the next thing to do would be to create a Query that retrieves the data you need.

Then - you can create a Report based on the Query.

Then - you can Export the Report either to a Word Doc - or a PDF. I've found that PDF keeps my formatting etc a LOT better than Word.

I'll be happy to walk you through this process one step at a time if you need.

And there are a lot of really helpful people on this site too.

You came to a good place for help!

rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003