benthamq is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Tabular Control Code

Hello All,

I am new to Access 2010 and greatly appreciate any help you can offer.

I have a form with a tabular control and one of the tabs contains a subform.

I want to put a button in the subform that will automatically create another tab in the tabular control with another blank copy of the subform in it. I need to do this because the subform contains data from a query that is in a many to one relationship with the data in the main part of the form, and it is possible sometimes that the user will need to enter additional records in the subform for the one record that is in the main part of the form. By having a button that automatically opens a new tab with a blank copy of the subform he will be able to do so easily.

What code should I write for the click event of the button on the subform to accomplish this?

Thanks so much for any help!

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Cannot open duplicate instances of the same form. What you need to do is move to a new record of the subform. The subform is set for SingleForm view?
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Thanks for your reply.

I guess my initial question was pretty dumb. Noted that you cannot duplicate the same subform. I am still learning.

So the solution then is to have multiple records in the subform - understood.
    That brings up this related question:
    When the form is opened, therefore, I need it so that the only records available in the subform are ones that apply to the open record in the main form (plus the option to add a new record in the subform, of course.)