Sorbz62 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Help - newbie

Hi guys,

Newbie here! I am working through Access 2010 in order to write a DB for students on multiple courses. This is what I want to do:

1. Have 4 tables with different type of student. I also want 1 table with all students but cannot work out how the append query works or if it does it automatically. I end up with duplicate data in the all student table and 4 times as many fields.

2. I have a list of courses but I need to be able to relate them to years and then months and link these to Year/ month documentation on the same PC.

3. I want a tabbed form, which has tabs for each student type and each course.

4. Finally I need a form which I presume is a query where I can input either student name or course and prodeuce a report on whichever I select.

I am a bit lost now with relationships and queries. I have the student tables, courses by name etc and basic input forms but am confused with how to get the relationships linked to make my complicated form.

Please help!
    Jim

By number 2 above I mean:

I have many courses listed in 1 table. I have nother table for 'Year' and another for 'month'. I'd like to be able to have a form whereby I can select the year and then month by drop-down box and then have a link to the documentation of that specific course. I'd also like to limit the drop-down box to only those months where ther are actual courses.

I hope this makes sense to you.

Ta,
    Jim

rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    you probably want a table setup like this:

Code:
    tblStudents
    StudID (autonumber, unique key)
    StudFN
    StudLN
    StudMI
    other student related fields....

tblClasses
    ClassID (autonumber, unique key)
    ClassName
    other class related fields....

tblTerms
    TermID (autonumber, unique key)
    TermStart (date/time)
    TermEnd (date/time)

tblStudentClasses
    SCID (autonumber, unique key)