Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Adcock1969 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Combine multiple Excel sheets in Access

Hi All,

First I'd like to say that I am new to Access.

I have two reports that I import into Excel.They both show the locations in the warehouse where our product is supposed to be located. Over years of lack of maintenance they no longer match.

What I would like to do is link these two sheets in Access so that the information can be updated as I progress and correct the information.
    Both have a common row or field called Locations. The problem is that some of the locations doesn't exist in both of the sheets. One of the sheets also has duplicated records for the same location.

I assume that I need some type of query to accomplish this; but have no idea where to start.

i have copied and pasted some samples of the information in the spreadsheets as well as the results that I am looking for.

I would appreciate any help someone could give me.

Sorry, my copy and paste didn't look right due to word-wrap. I have attached sreenshots of the two spreadsheets and the needed results in Access.
    Last edited by Adcock1969; 09-04-2011 at 11:23 AM. Reason: My copy and paste didn't look right due to word-wrap.

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Are you able to establish links to the worksheets? If so, then try Find Unmatched query. The Query Wizard can help you build this.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Windows XP Access 2007
    Sorry, I had to look up "find unmatched query" to see what it was. That looks similar to what I need; but I would also like to see the "matched" results as well.
    Any suggestions?

alansidman is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007