Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    pess is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    4

    Unhappy Very strange problem when hovering a parameter in debug mode

    I am facing a very strange problem when hovering a parameter in debug mode. I have the following line:
    Me.frmJobSub.Form.Filter = "custID=" & customerID
    customerID stores the value “1”, see (pic1) attached
    I am expecting the result to be:
    Me.frmJobSub.Form.Filter = “custID=” 1
    Strangely when I hover over the filter parameter I got:
    Me.frmJobSub.Form.Filter = "[custID]= 20”, see (pic2) attached
    Moreover, in the form side, the code is behaving correctly and filters record “custID=” 1


    By the way, the "[custID]= 20” is an old code, written between brackets [custID]. i tried to compact and repair the database, delete the on_load event and recreate it again but with no progress.

  2. #2
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922

  3. #3
    pess is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by RuralGuy View Post
    thanks for your reply
    i did decompile, but the problem persist!

  4. #4
    boblarson is offline --------
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,272
    Step PAST that line and then check to see what the filter shows. It has not yet been set and you may have a persistent filter (open the form in design view, and go to the DATA tab and then check the FILTER property and you might see something actually there which matches. Delete it and save the form.

    It is possible to get those if the form is saved when the filter has been set. So you want to make sure that there is nothing in that property when saving your form in design view and you do NOT want to have any code anywhere that uses:

    DoCmd.Close acForm, "FormNameHere", acSaveYes (or acSavePrompt or blank)

    Always use

    DoCmd.Close acForm, "FormNameHere", acSaveNo

    as acSavePrompt is the default and someone might be able to screw things up by selecting YES to the prompt, thinking it is talking about records instead of DESIGN CHANGES which is what it means.

  5. #5
    pess is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    4

    Thumbs up

    thanks
    i like access

  6. #6
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    Are you ready to use then Thread Tools at the top of the thread to mark this thread as Solved?

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Strange Problem w/ Excel File
    By batowl in forum Import/Export Data
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-30-2011, 03:25 AM
  2. Strange Problem
    By crowegreg in forum Forms
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-17-2011, 10:32 AM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-14-2011, 10:37 AM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-17-2010, 10:09 PM
  5. Opening Form in Data Entry Mode Problem
    By alsoto in forum Forms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-28-2009, 07:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums