JeffG3209 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Question Questions Regarding MS Access Memory

I have not quite figured out the fundamentals of access programs and memory. I have been working with my "database" for about 5 months now. I update the records monthly. I have a few simple questions that I am unsure of.

When I right click the properties of the icon, I see 786mb. However, I only have 51.1mb of xls data.

This means I roughly have 735mb of access code and structure? I figure this is not the case, and maybe access creates its own cache or index. Is that the right way of thinking?

One other question I have that pertains to memory. At what MB range will I start experiencing difficulties. I have read 2GB per table, but wonder at what overall program amount will it lock up?

boblarson is offline --------
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    First off, have you run COMPACT AND REPAIR? That needs to be done periodically (don't use the compact on close option as that is too often and can result in corruption if the right conditions present themselves). Access doesn't free up the space taken up by deleted objects until the compact is done.

Second, you wrote 2Gb per table but it is 2Gb per DATABASE FILE (including system objects). You could possibly use a separate database file for each table but then referential integrity can't be enforced by Access so you would have to code it in.

There really is no range as to when difficulties might arise. It really depends on the amount of data, the type of data and whether it is maintained (compact and repair done on a regular basis).

The database SHOULD be split - backend with tables only and then the frontend with everything else and a COPY of which goes on EACH user's machine. Any other method is almost a guarantee of corruption eventually.