REDandBLACKpack is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007

Query to keep track of comment history

I am pretty new to using access but I have a database that among other things has two tables. The first, Table A has a bunch of columns with stuff in including counterparty, entity, and comments. I need to have a way for comments to be entered into this table and "backed up" so to speak in another table which would show the counterparty, entity, and a listing of all the comments. Table A would keep the most recent comment.

I have tried using update queries but instead of adding only the rows that have been changed they add everything from Table A. If I try to do something like WHERE TableA.comments <> TableB.comments I get back a message that there are zero rows to update even though I manually changed some of them.

I do not have any primary keys assigned right now and because of the data I am using it would be easier if I did not have one. Is there a way to get this to work for me. I am flexible on how to get it done as long as TableA will show the most recent comment and comments changed in TableA can be updated to another table or query that keeps a history of them.

TheShabz is offline Court Jester
    Windows XP Access 2003
    You would need some sort of key to pull it off. You actually wouldn't keep ANY comments in your main table. In a second table, you would have the counterparty, entity, comment, and comment date/time. To get the most recent one, you simply query for max(date/time). each comment would have it's own record so you could query for all or just select comments.

Quote Originally Posted by TheShabz View Post