Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    bkvisler is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Rotating list of names

Hi all. Sorry if this is a super easy question, but I'm a newbie. I'm trying to keep track of a list of names of people and there associated information. I would like the list to be able to rotate...by that i mean when a name or some names are removed from the top of the list, the names below and there associated information moves up and now populates the begining of the list. Is this a situaion for access, or am I barking up the wrong tree? how should I go about making this?
    Thanks in advance for the help.

Brian

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Would have to update a field with some value that would be used to sort records. Perhaps a full date/time value. Assumes never more than one name gets hit on in a second. Sort by ascending, newest date goes to end. Would need code to update the field of existing record. A new record could default to Now().
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Can you give an example of what you want to do with before and after samples?

it would be much easier to guage what you're trying to do with an example.

Windows XP Access 2007
    Ok...More specifically, I have 40 employees who are assigned based on a rotating list. Example:
    1 Bob
    2 Tom
    3 Jane
    4 Sandy
    5 Johnny
    When an assignment comes in, one or many of these peope will be assigned, usually off the top of the list (but not always). They will be taken off the "Available" list and moved to an "Assigned" list. Then, all the people below those who were just assigned will move up on the list to fill the spaces left by those assigned.