andeekaii is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2003

Multiple products in an order

Hello there,

I am in the process of making a database to help me manage my ebay business sales. I have limited experience with Access and I have kind of hit a wall now.

I have a Sales form, which has an embedded Products Subform.
    Each sale can have multiple products attached to it and this works.

What I am struggling with is adding a new product to the sale through a form. I need some kind of drop down list to choose a product to add. Once this is done I would also like the ability to stock check e.g. when a product is added to a sale order, -1 from the product stock.

I have attached the database. I hope you guys can see where I'm going with this as the main structure is there, I'm just struggling to put it all together.

Andy

orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Here is a free data model related to inventory. It may help you to see how the tables are structured and related, so you can compare yours. This is just someone else's approach, not a suggestion that yours won't work.

http://www.databaseanswers.org/data_...tail/index.htm

You don't seem to have an Orders table per se. Usually one would have an Order and OrderDetails table. Not sure if that's relevant to you.

You may want to look at some other models, such as,
    http://www.databaseanswers.org/data_...ders/index.htm

and see if additional tables are needed. You really should have a model, and some test data and test conditions. Try your data against the model; and adjust as necessary.

You may need "pieces" from different model to get your "situation" properly modeled.

As for a drop down list -- that is a combobox (could be a listbox).

It seems that when a Product is assigned to an Order, you want to reduce the quantity of that Product in Inventory.

There are probably examples available via google or the forum.