explorer19 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 64bit

HELP for updating selected records

Hi, I am fairly new to macros and I am really lost. I need to make a macro so that when I select records from my datasheet form by highlighting them I can click on the button with macro that would set a field for all of those records to a certain value that the user inputs. I would really appreciate any help. Thank you.

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Not sure macro could do that, I have done something like this in VBA to delete selected records. Check this article http://support.microsoft.com/?id=294202
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Janoose is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Yes I do it through VBA but I never had any formal training with MS Access so I am not familiar with the Macro features in general . Here is my VBA code: Ethics_App_Date and ethics_dur are names on my table and also textbox on the form sorry I don't know what level you are at MS Access so I apologize if you know the VBA already.

Code:
    Private Sub Form_Load()
    Dim rs1 As Recordset
    DoCmd.SetWarnings False
    Dim db As Database
    Set db = CurrentDb()
    Dim sqlString1 As String
    Dim sqlString2 As String
    Dim appDate As Date
    Dim centreCode As String
    Dim ethics_dur As Integer
    Dim renewDate As Date
    sqlString1 = "Select ethics_app_date, ethics_dur, centre_Code from Centres"
    Set rs1 = db.OpenRecordset(sqlString1, dbOpenSnapshot, dbReadOnly)
    rs1.MoveFirst
    Do Until rs1.EOF
    If Not IsNull(rs1!Ethics_App_Date) And Not IsNull(rs1!ethics_dur) Then
    appDate = rs1.Fields("ethics_app_date")
    centreCode = rs1.Fields("centre_code")
    ethics_dur = rs1.Fields("ethics_dur")
    renewDate = DateAdd("YYYY", ethics_dur, appDate)