Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29
  1. #1
    webfactoryuk is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    25

    Help with combo box

    Hi all,



    Asked for help on this before but to be honest im paddling in the Atlantic with only a rubber duck as a floatation device lol.

    When I took on this job I was planning mySQL and PHP etc and its turned out to be a right PITA as I dont have a clue about Access.

    Ive just about got the system where I need but on my Racking Component Form I need 3 combo boxes and each one is dependant on the last.

    I have attached my database if someone could take a look?

    Its the Racking Component Screen form and the data (although not complete) is in the table called Rack Comp Defects.

    First the user will choose a Component, then they will see that Components defects and then finally the user will pick the action dependant on the defect.

    I think I have the data setup correctly but the guides I found mentioned named elements like tblinformation and frminformation and I couldnt work out if they had just called there tables that it if the tbl and frm prefix was added by me? I dont know.

    Any help would be massively appreciated. Tearing my hair out wanted to get it over and done with!

    Attachment didnt work so I uploaded in in zip form.

    www.sambritton.co.uk/rackingcompany.zip

  2. #2
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    Maybe you will find this link useful: http://www.baldyweb.com/CascadingCombo.htm

  3. #3
    webfactoryuk is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    25
    You'd think so wouldnt you haha.

    The actual guide still confused me so I downloaded the sample database and tried copying that.

    I actually have the first drop down box working but started from scratch anyway and copied this from the row source in the sample database and changed it accordingly but it doesnt work.

    SELECT [Rack Comp Defects].[Racking Component] FROM Rack Comp Defects GROUP BY [Rack Comp Defects].[Racking Component];


    I have no idea what that means but it works in the sample

    i do appreciate Im waaay out of my depth but this is the last thing I need to be able to do and the systems done so im determined to atleast blag it lol.

    Thanks for the help!

  4. #4
    webfactoryuk is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    25
    This is what I have for the first 2 combo boxes now

    SELECT [Rack Comp Defects].[Racking Component] FROM Rack Comp Defects GROUP BY [Rack Comp Defects].[Racking Component];


    SELECT [Rack Comp Defects].[Racking Component] FROM Rack Comp Defects WHERE ((([Racking Component].[Racking Comp Defects])=[Forms]![Racking Components Screen]![rackcomp])) ORDER BY [Rack Comp Defects].[Racking Component];


    Rack Comp Defects is a table

    Racking Component and Racking Comp Defects are fields in the table

    Racking Component Screen is my form

    and finally rackcomp is the first combo box in the form.


    Im now getting a Syntax Error in FROM clause error when trying the first combo box.

    Database name doesnt have a period in which apparently is a case for that?


    EDIT - changed the name of my table and it still has the error message.

  5. #5
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    Go ahead and do a Compact and Repair and then zip up your db and attach it to the next post.

  6. #6
    webfactoryuk is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    25
    Still over 1mb when I have done that so I uploaded it minus the zip this time

    http://www.sambritton.co.uk/rackingcompany.accdb

    Dont laugh at me!

  7. #7
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    The limit on ZIP files is 2 MB. I'll look at it.

  8. #8
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    You would ease your tasks if you did not embed spaces in your names. I personally use CamelFontNames for clarity. You should also try using the query wizard to create your RowSources. The wizard does not get syntax errors. Just my $0.02

  9. #9
    webfactoryuk is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    25
    Thanks alot


    That helps already as I had seen names like tblcomponent and stuff in guides and couldnt work out if that was the name they had saved the table as or there was another Name/ID option somewhere or something.

  10. #10
    webfactoryuk is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    25
    Tried the query builder but I have no idea what to put in the second combo box's criteria or anything.

    Need to get the component combo box to only show each component once too instead of listing them all.


  11. #11
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    I'm still trying to understand your db. I would expect a table where you will record your information and then several Lookup tables for the various pieces of information for the 1st table. I don't think that is what you have done here.

  12. #12
    webfactoryuk is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    25
    lol sorry!

    It was pretty much the first time I had opened Access when I started this.


    I have set it up so that there is a seperate table for each of the sets of information I need to record and each of the forms feed into the relevant table.

    I have then created reports for each table and use something called PDF-Redirect to combine them into 1 PDF file along with a word document and image that goes into the final report.

    It does the job. Just need the combo boxes to work.

    Thanks again.

  13. #13
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    So the whole idea is to complete the [Racking Components] table with text form those other relavent tables, right?

  14. #14
    webfactoryuk is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    25
    No each form has its own table and its own report.

    Racking Components Table gets data from the Racking Component Screen (form).

    Then you just print all the reports.


    PDF-Redirect catches the print jobs like a normal PDF converter but you can do more than one print job.

    Add all the reports and make the PDF.

  15. #15
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    We're just trying to get the Racking Component Screen form working right?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-23-2014, 12:19 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-02-2011, 10:09 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-26-2009, 10:45 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-26-2009, 10:17 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-17-2008, 12:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums