Eowyne is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Export from Access to Excel

Well, since i'm here already posting one of my two questions.. I might as well post the other one:

My company wants me to create a form on which an employee can export some records from the database.
    This is not the problem.

The problem is the fact that i would like to format the Excel database in the following order:

Sheet1: Summary of all the other tabs
    Sheet2: (if exists) Systems

Sheet3: (If Exists) Monitors
    Sheet4: (If Exists) Laptops
    and so on.

Putting the Sheet's 2-4 in the excel database should be doable with running multiple query's based on a first one which selects which tabs there should be added. However, the first sheet must contain a summary of the other sheets.

Is there a way to export both the data, and insert formula's and plain text into a sheet?

P.s. I'm a complete newbie to exporting to Excel. I Thought it would be easy since Access already facilitates this.. however.. Writing the actual VBA code is as challenging as the first time I wrote a Inner join query ^^

ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by Eowyne View Post
    Is there a way to export both the data, and insert formula's and plain text into a sheet?
    are you talking about doing this FROM access?? the only way to do stuff like this is from code. the interface in access can only do simple export functions. code is required for complex tasks. This is very tough to figure out, but for a developer it would only be a simple case of trial and error to make sure that the code actually works.

You can obviously export multiple tables to multiple sheets in the same excel workbook, but to my knowledge, code is required to do this as well, unless you want to do one table at a time, manually.

Eowyne is offline Novice