shelbsassy is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Talking Help with Table Design for Employee Task Database

Hello,
    I am fairly new to Access and have been trying to create a relatively simple database that will track how many hours employees spend on a specific task. Each employee has a billing rate so for the task I would need a calculation (hours * rate).

I have tried a few templates but nothing seems to work or when I try to customize it, I break something. Ive done a lot of online reading for the last month on this and just bought a huge Access book, but I am wondering if someone can tell me if I am on the right path.

These are my tables:
    Employee Table with EmpID, EmpLastName, EmpFirstName, EmpRate
    Task Table with TaskID, TaskName

I need a Form where I select the Employee and enter the date, select the Task from the List, enter the number of hours, and it will calculate automatically the cost based on that Employee's billing rate.

I'm trying to figure out the WorkDone table that will link everything together and store the data that is input into the form.

I was thinking EmpID, TaskID, Date, Hours, Cost

Would a join from Employee to WorkDone and a join from Task to Work Done work? How does the data that is entered into the form get into a table?

Any guidance would be appreciated. Thank you!

Shel

orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Take a look at this one.
    http://www.databaseanswers.org/data_...home/index.htm

Change the Project to Task, and you could drop the Addresses and possibly others.
    What do you need that isn't ther?

Windows XP Access 2007
    Thanks for the link, that looks great! I guess what I am trying to figure out is how the input data gets written to a table. I was thinking I have a new table called WorkDone which would have the fields EmpID, TaskID, Date, Hours, Cost but I don't know how to get that updated.

orange is offline Moderator