ahamilton is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2010 64bit

Simple Combo Box Multiple Select Question

Hello all you expert Access users! I am new to Access and have what I think is a very simple question that I can not seem to solve. I have a training record form that allows you to select those who attended by checking boxes in a combo Box. I would like a field in my report that tells me the total number in attendance by counting the number of checked boxes in the combo box. What expression, formula, and/or validation rule do I use??

pkstormy is offline Access/SQL Server Expert
    Windows XP Access 2003
    In the recordsource query, add an expression as such: MyExpressionName: IIF([MyCheckBoxField] = True,1,0). Add this MyExpressionName to the report and then sum it in the footer.

Or you can create a query which uses the above expression and then another query based off this one which sums all the 1's (in MyExpressionName) and use the Dlookup command on the report to retrieve the value from the summed query.

Thank you pkstormy!! Near as I can tell, I have the simplist DB ever. And you provided a solution to my problem. But, I unfortunately cannot get it to work. Very frustrating. Thanks anyway.

Windows XP Access 2003
    What are you stuck on?

Combo Box

Good morning pkstormy. When I add the expression IIF([MyCheckBoxField] = True,1,0), I get the message "The multi-valued field cannot be used in a Where or Having clause". I'm pretty sure that the problem is my lack of understanding the software and have come to the conclusion that a class would be extremely helpful. Those of you that have a comprehensive understanding of Access must find the rest of us exaspirating.

Windows XP Access 2003
    Let me think....

What is the actual field name of your field for [MyCheckBoxField] and is this a bit field type? (you need to change MyCheckBoxField to whatever your field name is.)