gunner is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

distributing Access front ends

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to Access and trying to understand the big picture.

So, I have an MS SQL Server with all the data. I'm creating an Access file and connecting to that server using ODBC connection. Now I want distribute my access file to users who are not located on my network (i.e. they are at different locations). And I'm having the following problems:

1) Is it true that to distribute my application I need to install ODBC driver on all user computers and create an ODBC connection so that my access is able to connect to the sql server?
    2) Is there another way of creating one access file and distributing it without any modifications on the end-user's computer?

Thanks!

ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    ummm...without a driver, a connection can't be established. That's the point of an ODBC driver, sir.

gunner is offline Novice
    ajetrumpet, thanks for your answer. I have another question to you, if you don't mind. What might be a reason for not being able to connect to a remote SQL server from access, but being able to connect through Sql Server Management Studio? Thanks

ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by gunner View Post
    ajetrumpet, thanks for your answer. I have another question to you, if you don't mind. What might be a reason for not being able to connect to a remote SQL server from access, but being able to connect through Sql Server Management Studio? Thanks
    I have no idea. I don't know anything about the latter. For Access, there's a multitude of reasons. I don't do much ODBC right now, but...what method are you using? When access starts, what happens?

(OBVIOUSLY, not having a driver on the machine would cause it)

gunner is offline Novice