kimhuff is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Question Help with Relationships and how to achieve a goal.

I am using Access 2007. I know many of the long-time access programmers seem to hate this version but it is the only version I have.

Although I am not a novice when it comes to Access... I am definitely not good at complex databases. (Granted this will probably seem easy to all of you.) Anyway, I am trying to create a database that will track the membership for a non-profit sci-fi group I belong to.

I have a membership table with all the normal name, address, phone numbers, email address, etc. We also need to track promotions within the group, when a new membership was purchased and the renewals.

I created a Promotions table with the date of the promotion and the new rank. When I create the Membership form.. I would like for there to be three subforms.. one for a list of all the renewals, one that lists all the promotions and a final one that shows a list of notes left on the account. I am going to want the most recent entry listed at the top. I am confused by exactly which fields I need in each table and how the relationships need to be set. Each member will only have one rank at any given time, but he or she can have several promotions. How will Access know which "rank" to pull for a report or on a form?

I also need to be able to track those that need to renew and be able to print a list of current and expired members. I did not create a field for Active and Expired members because I was hoping the database would be able to calculate this by the month and year the person joined. This too is an aspect I dont know how to setup.