Buakaw is offline Absolute novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Calling up another form - Not Working

Hi,

I'm trying to call up a particular record in another form from the current form I'm on. I've tried different options for several days but it's still not working.

The main form is frmPaymentSelectName. This form will list out the names of all students. When I click the "Pay" button on the side of the name, I want it to bring up the correct record in frmPaymentDetails.

I'm encountering several problems currently.

1) The "Pay" button will call ClickToPay_Click() when pressed. I have declared a temp dbgString, which I put on the watch window, to see what gets passed in.

No matter which button I press (under the 3 different names), the name that's always sent in is "Rajah Gopal". If I press Chuck Smith's button, it will still send in "Rajah Gopal". Why is this happening?

2) I'm trying to open the right record in frmPaymentDetails, by setting up the whereString. However, it is not working.

I get a box prompting me to "Enter Parameter Value". Why does this happen?

If I enter "Chuck" for example, I still get a blank frmPaymentDetails form.

Ideal) What I want to happen is, when I press the button in frmPaymentSelectName for Chuck Smith for example, it brings me to Chuck Smith's record in frmPaymentDetails.

Help anyone? Thanks.

jzwp11 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    You're code was not quite correct. The field names in the table have a space [First Name], but your code did not. I also included both the first and last names in the string. The corrected code is as follows

Code:
        whereString = "[First Name] = " & "'" & Me.FirstName & "' AND [Last Name]='" & Me.LastName & "'"
        DoCmd.OpenForm "frmPaymentDetails", , , whereString, acFormEdit