Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    oleBucky is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2003

Passing records and changing fields for images

I am a novice with Access and VBA so please bear with me.

I have a form in an Access 2003 db in which I want to pass two selections (a record and a one of two fields in the selected record) to a subform or an object in the form which will display an image based on the two selections.

The basic information is a table (tblPlayers) with information from baseball tabletop game and includes players, teams, and card images. Each player is a record and each record has two card image fields (actually a text field with the path to externally stored images), one for hitting and one for pitching as well as a field for the player’s team. So far, my main form, called frmVisitor, queries tblPlayers for a team then has 10 combo boxes to allow the selection of nine hitters and one pitcher from the queried team. This works fine.

On the image display issue, I adapted the Microsoft Support kb 285820 solution into a form, dubbed frmVisImage, to show images. On a standalone basis, that works too. After extensive work, my novicity (I make up words too often) in working with VBA code has precluded my ability to connect the option group on frmVisitor to the record control on frmVisImage, let alone, get the frmVisitor to change the image path field on frmVisImage.

I’ve included a screen capture of my current form (the one that is not communicating) to hopefully those who know more than I better understand where I am and where I want to be. I would GREATLY appreciate ANY help you all might offer.
    Last edited by oleBucky; 02-11-2011 at 06:32 PM. Reason: Attachment did not make it through.

RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    I think I'm looking at a Form with a SubForm on it. Maybe this will help: http://www.mvps.org/access/forms/frm0031.htm

Windows XP Access 2003