Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tari is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003

Red face Need help with a report

Hey,

my boss wants to change our purchasing paperwork from paper to access. As I'm the geek on sight he asked me if I could sit down and figure it out - unfortunately I'm a total Access noob

So I decided to work backwards.. I used the order mangement template from the office website and changed it according to my needs.
    I'm at the final step now and don't know how to do it

My order form looks like the attached screenshot. The Order ID is the "1" where it says "RTP Number" and it's an autonumber.

Now what I need is when you hit the button "View RTP" that it asks you for the RTP Number.. so 1.. and it shows you the report related to Order ID 1. I have to configure the report so that it looks the way I want it, but I think I can figure that out. My problem is the qualification by Order ID.

And I have another question.. When you open the database the order form automatically opens and displays the first record. How do I make it to default to a new record, rather than the first record? So when you open it, it gives you a blank form.

Hope that made any sene

Thanks for the help!

jzwp11 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    If you are using code behind the View RTP button, then you just need to specify the WHERE portion of the docmd. How did you set up the button, the command button wizard? Can you post the code behind the button?

The docmd code might look something like this:
    Code:

Dim stDocName As String
        stDocName = "YourReportNameHere"
        DoCmd.OpenReport stDocName, acPreview, , "[Order ID]= " & me.ControlNameOnTheFormThatHoldsTheOrderID

When you open the database the order form automatically opens and displays the first record. How do I make it to default to a new record, rather than the first record? So when you open it, it gives you a blank form.