ClownKiller is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Unhappy Relationship

Regards, im new to access with some basic knowledge of office tools and currently im trying to set up a relationship in between of my two tables which is not working as i would like it to and i can't guess why.

Hope to find an answer here ...

I have one table with user data (f name, l name, street etc.) and in the other table i have data when this user has contacted me, why, what did i do afterwards and so.

Here is my problem. I get duplicate data in user table each time when i enter data as access creates new entry in both table, user and usercontact and i would like that entering new data update only usercontact table if i already have that user in user table.

Im entering data using setup formwiz with combined data from both table and i supose that i did wrong relationship when i get that kind of double entry in user table.

I have related ID columns in each table.

pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Not sure how you set up the form, but you shouldn't be getting values added to both tables. In the scenario you've described, I'd expect the form to be bound to the "other" table. You'd have a combo box to select the user; that combo would get its selections from the user table, but be bound to a field in the other table. Typically that field would be a user ID field, which both tables would have, and which the relationship between them would be based on.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com