khughes46 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 8 Access 2010 32bit

Can't get exclusive access to BE DB if a FE DB is open.

I have a master DB (BE) with all the tables I need for other FE DB applications. The FE DB's are linked to the tables in the BE DB. There 4 applications with their own DB linking back to the BE DB. The BE DB has Queries, Forms and Macros that are used exclusively in the BE and are not linked anywhere. Each FE DB's is linked to only the tables required for its specific application. Some tables are used in more than one application DB. All of the DB's are in shared folders. I thought that this type of split and setup would give me access to the BE DB regardless of the status of any FE DB. What am I missing?

JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Since all the FE DBs are linked to the BE DBs, anytime anyone is in any of the databases, the BE will be locked. You need to get everyone out to get exclusive access.

BTW, you should not have Queries, Forms, and Macros in your BE DB. If you have different tasks that you want to do that you do not want to give to others, simply create a different FE DB (you can have multiple FE versions all connecting to the same BE). That way you will be able to easily update/edit that FE without having to kick everyone out of your BE. Your BE really should just be a data repository, nothing more.

Didn't fully realize that about only data in the BE, thanks for the tip. However, sometimes I have to make table changes or add new tables, so I guess I have to wait for all users to be out of their connecting DB's. But that should be OK since I only make those changes after hours when everybody should be out. Unfortunately some of my users haven't gotten used too the idea of exiting the DB when finished or before they go home.

JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2007