Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Prevent Users from Deleting Records

Hello,

I am very new to access but have created databases in other software. I'm creating a really simple database to house documents. In my other software, I created accounts and privileges for my users to prevent them from doing any damage. I would like to do the same here. All I really need is and Admin account for me and a guest account for everyone else. The guest account can search, filter and export but can't add, delete or change information. How do I do this? I read one of those Access for dummy books and saw nothing about accounts or preventing users from doing damage. Any suggestions on better reading material or how to do this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

NTC is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    one does this by keeping the user within the Form - and not getting directly into the table. Within the form properties one can lock or unlock fields. one can also do this at the individual control property also.

a simple way is to create a form with locked fields - and users of a certain 'class' as dictated by their log in info - then get directed to this form; while other users get directed to a form that is unlocked.

hope this helps.

Thanks NTC, I got the form set up with the fields locked. Since the user-level security I was looking for appears to no longer exist in Access 2007, I'm going to try to hide the tables from my users in the Navigation Pane. That way only the forms are visible. I'm not sure how to direct users at log in because I believe accounts are also only available in Access 2003. If I'm wrong please let me know.

TheShabz is offline Court Jester
    Windows XP Access 2003
    split the database. the tables are stored on the backend and merely linked to the front end. then disable the navigation pane and keep them in a form the whole time. they wont be able to touch your tables.