Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    LAazsx is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    30

    Bound textbox causes problems

    Hi, I've been trying to figure out how to bound controls, specifically textboxes to columns of tables. I tried using the "Add Existing Field" feature and inserted a control using it, the screen becomes blank when i view form.
    Last edited by LAazsx; 11-28-2010 at 09:23 PM.

  2. #2
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    That generally means two things: 1) you have AllowAdditions set to NO and 2) there are no records in the RecordSource.

  3. #3
    LAazsx is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    30
    I don't have records in may table yet. I'm making a form that adds records. Is there a way to fix this?

  4. #4
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    YES! Set AllowAdditions to YES.

  5. #5
    LAazsx is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    30
    Thanks. It works now.

  6. #6
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    It gets easier after you have worked with it for a bit.

  7. #7
    LAazsx is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    30
    Yeah. I have a project that's due in a month and our prof has just started discussing on access. Oh well. Thank again

  8. #8
    LAazsx is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    30

    how to stop form from writing to a table.

    Hi, i want to make a "save" button for my form. Is there a way to prevent the form from writing records instantly? and how do i code the button to "save" the record?

  9. #9
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    The Form's BeforeUpdate event *always* fires just before any record is saved and the event can be Canceled. I would create a Public Boolean variable in the Form's Class (code) module like blnSaveOK and set it true in your "Save" button code. If it is not True in the BeforeUpdate event of the Form then Cancel the event.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. How to bound a text box
    By bundy75 in forum Forms
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-30-2010, 02:50 PM
  2. bound Hyperlinks
    By lazrus55 in forum Access
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-03-2010, 08:10 AM
  3. Rollback of data in a bound subform
    By mrk68 in forum Forms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-14-2009, 05:01 AM
  4. Report will not print a bound textbox
    By vvrt in forum Reports
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-16-2006, 02:16 PM
  5. inserting bound pictures
    By inquisitive in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-09-2006, 09:59 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums