radicrains is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Is it possible for me to count my records? how?

All these times, my posting has been about me trying to create a database.. This is because I'm suppose to create this database as my Internship Project..

For now, i wanna know is it possible for us to COUNT our records.. If u refer to the picture attached(End product), I need to know the count values for the number of drawings being issued to each DrawingNo..

So far when i tried to query, it only gives me the Field count records.. But what i Need is Access to count the ROWS and not COLUMNS..

So is it possible for me to count the revision drawings on rows?

I really hope there's a way for me to do this, I'm still new to Microsoft Acces, so guide me.. Thanks..

ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    is the column in RED the one that you have now, but don't want?

the function to count rows is COUNT(). or, DCOUNT(). a row count can be obtained by using either of those functions.

as a side note as well, storing your projects in each column like that is how you would do it in Excel. It is a common misconception that people have. Those projects should be in a separate table, listed DOWN in rows, and a relationship established between your current table in the picture and the new 'projects' table.

That is basically why Access was created. The relationship concept eliminates the need to list items horizontally, like in Excel.

Windows XP Access 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by ajetrumpet View Post
    is the column in RED the one that you have now, but don't want?

the function to count rows is COUNT(). or, DCOUNT(). a row count can be obtained by using either of those functions.
    The column in red is the result that i want to achieve in my query.. And if I'm not mistaken, COUNT() only works along the column(vertically) and not horizontally..

Quote Originally Posted by ajetrumpet View Post