Mariee is offline Novice
    Windows 11 Access 2007

Limit a list depending on selected category

Hi Sorry if this is a stupid question, I am very new to access.

I want to create a unique record for different categories.
    For example, I have different categories of food: Fruit, Veg, Cereal, Dairy.
    Each will then have a type: for fruit, it could be unspecified, banana, apple, etc

I would like all the food in the same table with a drop down menu that allows me to enter only food that matches the right category. (so if the category is dairy, I can't select banana)
    what is the simplest way of doing that?

At the moment I have a table list of category, one for the type and I want them togther in a table called FOOD so I can assign the same attributes to them.

Search for cascading combos.
    Please use # icon on toolbar when posting code snippets.
    Cross Posting: https://www.excelguru.ca/content.php?184
    Debugging Access: https://www.youtube.com/results?sear...bug+access+vba

For start, you have to create tables where you register various info handled in your DB. Related to your post #1, you need tables like:
    tblFoodCategories: FoodCategotyID, FoodCategory (my advice is, FoodCategoryID will be autonumeric, and FoodCategory text);
    tblFoods: FoodID, FoodName, FoodCategoryID (FoodID will be Autonumeric, FoodName will be text, and FoodCategoryID will be long integer and is a foreign key linking food category with food. I'd prefer using long integer FK linking to autonumeric PK in source table, as this way you can at any time edit food categories texts when there is a need for it.).